What’s Most Important To You?

Posted: November 2, 2009 in family, General Discussion, life, Poll
Tags: , ,

2362272020029688058AtcyJq_thOK, I have debated about posting this as a blog topic, but since I cannot seem to figure it out on my own, I’m going to ask for your help. It is commonly recognized that there are 5 main functions of the church. For the purpose of this particular post I’m going to add preaching as a separate function, instead of lumping it in with something else. These are 1) Worship 2)Discipleship 3)Evangelism 4)Fellowship 5)Ministry 6)Preaching.

The reason I’m wanting to do this is because I have many friends that at one time or another were faithful in attending church, but for whatever reason they’re not right now……… O.k. here comes the controversy: The main reason, when ask why, is because of something that happened in their previous church experience (almost 100%) I know that sounds like a weak excuse, but there has to be something to this and whether or not it’s a legitimate excuse, it is a problem………I have heard the arguments on this from both sides (Pastor’s and people affected) and I realize the answer is somewhere in the middle. (Not to mention that our local Pastor’s have discussed the fact that most of the time when they get new members, it’s people who have left another local church and just moved they’re membership.)

Personal confession: My family and I have been members of 3 local churches. Our experiences are not unique to others. We have fallen into certain traps as well, so as I write this I’m doing so with some personal experience. And I will say that we have yet to find, and I doubt there is one out there,that is perfect in all the functions mentioned.

So having said that, what I’m going to need from you, is participation in the poll question and honest comments. I want to know, when looking for a church what is the MOST IMPORTANT function for you and your family. After you vote please leave a comment on why that is and maybe even list in order of importance the rest. I would also love to hear some personal testimonies on some good or bad experiences you have had.

Some side notes:

1)I am very happy at my current church home

2)I do not want to start a war here so feel free to comment anonymously

3)Pastor’s comments are welcome and needed (although I doubt any will read this)

4)To keep it simple “worship” in this poll will reflect the music aspect only

Thank you in advance,

   Bill

Comments
  1. We went to an independent Baptist church for about 8 years since we moved to this city. It was a fine church until about 2004 we were all given a free copy of Purpose Driven Life and told that some changed were going to be made. I hated the book right off, but the changes were sublet and I tried to “not throw the baby out with the bath water” as I was often told when I voiced a concern of the direction. I did NOT want to leave this church!! This was my social circle if nothing else!! My husband left one Sunday and said that God would have to call him back to that church. He visited churches while me and the kids stayed there. It was because of the preaching that I finally could not go back. I literally had to sit on my hands because I was afraid I was going to yell out, “What are you talking about?? This is NOT the gospel!!” I believe by God’s Providence he led Bruce to the Reformed Baptist church we are at now. I laugh because the family we have grown to love at this church is not people I would normally seek out for friendship…ya know what I mean? We only have one thing in common…that is the glorification of Jesus Christ!! I have been to church to have ‘felt needs’ met and I have been to church to hear the Word of God preached and the latter is the only one that meets ALL my needs!

  2. In some ways this is kind of a tough question to answer for me, but I’d say that preaching is the most important function because I see everything else flowing from it. The Word preached leads to the Word lived in a life of worship… And in itself is an act of worship.

    Am I crazy?

  3. Bill says:

    Cindy and Aaron thanks for your comments.

    Cindy- My experience is quite similar to yours. I’m glad God has led your family to such a great church.

    Aaron-If you’re crazy, then I’m crazy because I couldn’t agree with you more!

Leave a Reply

