Which Bible Translation Do You Use?

Posted: September 3, 2009 in General Discussion, life, News, Poll, Scripture
Tags: , , , ,

In light of the publishers deciding to do away with the TNIV version(I applaud this move) when they roll out the updated new NIV version of the bible (story here),I wanted to take a poll to see if the NIV was still a popular version still being used today. I know I used it in the past almost exclusively until a friend introduced me to the ESV. So if you would be so kind as to participate in this poll I would appreciate it. Feel free to leave a comment as well. Thanks. 🙂

Comments
  1. Roger Servin says:

    Voted ESV baby!! 🙂

  2. Bill says:

    Me too! Thanks for voting!

  3. Phil says:

    I read somewhere that the NASB was the most accurate translation of the original manuscripts?

    • jason says:

      Phil, that really depends on who you talk to and could be debated endlessly. I’d stick with a literal translation that avoids gender-neutral editing. The ESV, NASB, HCSB, NKJV, KJV, RSV, and NET Bibles all fit this description.

  4. jason says:

    My reference Bible is a wide margin KJV where I take my notes and carry around. However I voted ESV because I read the Bible on the computer more than on paper and I primarily use ESV in my Bible software. Sometimes I let the ESV Study Bible website read it to me 🙂

    I read the NIV to my 2 year old.

  5. Phil says:

    I don’t much about the ESV translation. I looked at their website: http://www.esv.org/ . I must say I’m impressed with the quality of men and women that were involved in the translation project. I will definately check this version out.

  6. time2stand says:

    ESV and RSV for me. Whenever I write I usually use the ESV. Although, I do like the NASB Greek and Hebrew as a useful tool as well. Bottom line for me is this, “Am I worshiping God in spirit and truth? Am I walking with Him today?”

    The ESV study is by far the best study Bible there is!

    Thanks for your site!

    Talk to you soon!

  7. DysfunctionalParrot says:

    I must say that the ESV is certainly benefiting from internet marketing. Good thing, as it is a wonderful translation! Aside from that I like the New Living for the Psalms…although I think the NLT is questionable outside that use! Add the NIV and NASB and I’m set.

    http://dysfunctionalparrot.wordpress.com/2009/09/28/king-james-only/

Leave a Reply

