Man A Nothing—a Puritan Prayer

Posted: August 11, 2009 in Devotional, doctrine, General Discussion, life, Theology
Tags: , , , , ,

It was asked of me in another post, how can I believe the way I do and still worship at church. I’m not sure in what spirit the question was being asked in, and really it doesn’t matter. It is hard to convey a passion for something on a blog post like you can in face to face meetings, which makes answering the question in a way the other person can fully understand more difficult. But as I read this Puritan prayer this morning it reinforced , not only my doctrinal and theological beliefs, but I think it may provide an answer to the question that was asked of me this morning. I hope as you read it, it blesses you as it did me………….This is why I worship.

 

O Lord,

Iam a shell full of dust,

      but animated with an invisible rational soul

      and made anew by an unseen power of grace;

Yet I am no rare object of valuable price,

   but one that has nothing and is nothing,

   although chosen of thee from eternity,

   given to Christ, and born again;

I am deeply convinced

   of the evil and misery of a sinful state,

   of the vanity of creatures,

   but also of the sufficiency of Christ.

When thou wouldst guide me I control myself,

When thou wouldst be sovereign I rule myself.

When thou wouldst take care of me I suffice myself.

When I should depend on thy providings I supply

   myself,

When I should submit to thy providence I follow

   my will,

When I should study, love, honour, trust thee,

   I serve myself;

I fault and correct thy laws to suit myself,

Instead of thee I look to a man’s approbation,

   and am by nature an idolater.

Lord, it is my chief design to bring my heart back

   to thee.

Convince me that I cannot be my own God,

     or make myself happy,

   nor my own Christ to restore my joy,

   nor my own Spirit to teach, guide, rule me.

Help me to see that grace does this by providential

    affliction,

   for when my credit is good thou dost cast me

      lower,

   when riches are my idol thou dost wing them

      away,

   when pleasure is my all thou dost turn it into

      bitterness.

Take away my roving eye, curious ear, greedy

     appetite, lustful heart;

   show me that none of these things

     can heal a wounded conscience,

     or support a tottering frame,

     or uphold a departing spirit.

   then take me to the cross

   and leave me there.

Comments
  1. Christie says:

    Beautiful…

  2. Bill says:

    Isn’t it 🙂

  3. Phil says:

    Wow! It reminds me of Isaiah 6:5, “…Woe is me! for I am undone…”

Leave a Reply

