What’s Going On Pt.4

Posted: June 24, 2009 in family, General Discussion, life
Tags: , , ,

WOW, what a whirlwind past couple of weeks! God has been gracious to us, as He always is. I  just want to take a second and give my 3 readers a little update on things. As most of you know, our family had the opportunity to visit Boyce College and Southern Seminary last week. I can’t begin to describe what an awesome time we had. The people there treated us great and I spent most of the time just walking around being in awe of the place. My favorite part of the whole trip was the one evening that the whole family walked around the campus. We were just taking everything in, discussing all the things that we are going to have to do before we move, how much we were going to miss our friends and family etc…..We found a table and some chairs outside and sat down and I felt such a peace, like this is where we are suppose to be. It was great to hear my kids say they didn’t want to go back home. I still don’t fully understand what God has in store for us or why He would even want a worm like me to do anything for Him but I’m very excited and ready to take that “next” step. I hope that you all would continue to pray for us.

Just a couple of more things about our trip real quick. 1) If you have never been to the Creation Museum you have to put that on your “must-do” list. I could try to describe it but I don’t think I could give this place its just due with my words. Trust me on this one. 2) Another highlight of our trip was catching up with our old friends Jamie and Eric. They are a wonderful Godly couple that we will be leaning heavily on as we make our transition. 🙂 (I hope they’re prepared) 3) We had a good day at Kentucky Kingdom. I only got to ride 1 rollercoaster because the others were either broken down or the lines were too long. If you get a chance ask Mystie how those motion sickness pills worked out for her…..lol. All in all though we had a great time and look forward to making Louisville our home.

 Also as most of you all know, God chose to save Ryne (my son) two weeks ago. I am still amazed at how God has moved in Ryne’s life and awakened him. A few years ago Ryne made a “profession” of faith and was baptized. He has grown up in church his whole life (all 15 yrs of it) so he had a head knowledge of what is meant to get saved, in other words he knows the routine. And as a father that desperately wants to see his children saved I often encouraged him to make a “decision” and he did. But two weeks ago as soon as Brother Josh got done preaching he looked at me with tears in his eyes and ask me to go to the alter with him, and I knew right then God was bringing him to repentance and faith. This only deepens my conviction that salvation is a supernatural thing that only God can do. I agree with my friend, Shane, that Christians are not made, they’re born. Several years ago we tried to make a Christian out of Ryne, but today we are praising God for allowing the new birth to become a reality in his life. I’ll never forget this Father’s day because I had the privilege to see my son get baptized for real!!

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings. I know it’s 45 seconds of your life that you can never get back. 🙂 Have a wonderful and blessed rest of the week!

Comments
  1. Phil says:

    Welcome back Bill! It sounds like God is preparing you for an awesome future of serving him in ministry!

    Gina and I are looking forward to seeing the Creation Museam. I think Pastor Josh was planning on taking a church outing up there in Autumn of this year?

    You’ve raised your children well 🙂

    -Phil

  2. Bill says:

    Thanks Bro. Phil!

  3. Mystie says:

    What a wonderful post! I thank God also for saving Ryne! You are right salvation is of the Lord, and not by us by no means. I am very excited about Louisville and what he has in store for our family, and especially you! You are doing an awesome job as a husband and father!!

  4. Matt says:

    I know how yall felt when you were up there. It was the same way for me. I knew that’s where I’m suppose to be. I will be praying for you and your family, I know God is gonna use you guys in a powerful way. He already has. Also I too thank God for saving Ryne, I will be praying for him as he grows in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior.

  5. Mystie says:

    Thanks Matt! It will be nice knowing you will be in Louisville too. You and Bill will experiencing the same things, and I hope you guys can help each other out. It will be nice to see a familiar face in such a large city. We will be praying for you too!

  6. God bless you guys.

    Bill, your humbleness and meekness doesn’t go unnoticed. Your nothingness has brought me to remembrance of a prayer I read recently from “The Valley of Vision”,
    “Fit me to quit all hopes of the world’s friendship,
    and give me a deeper sense of my sinfulness.
    Fit me to accept as just desert from thee
    any trial that may befall me.
    Fit me to be totally resigned to the denial
    of pleasures I desire,
    and to be content to spend my time with thee.
    Fit me to pray with a sense of the joy
    of divine communion,
    to find all times happy seasons to my soul,
    to see my own nothingness,
    and wonder that I am allowed to serve thee.”

    For encouragement.

    Ryne,
    God has brought you into the fold for His purpose and glory!
    What is so amazing about a person who makes the right choices in life?
    Answer: Nothing, we expect people to make the right choices.
    But, what if someone made a choice that was not in his nature (ability) to choose? For example, a leopard taking off his spots or an Ethiopian changing the color of his skin. Like a sinner seeking after righteousness!
    Now that is amazing, Amazing Grace!

    Ryne, grace is not MADE amazing because YOU choose Christ , but rather it is amazing because you choose Christ! Amen

  7. Bill says:

    @Matt— I need you to go ahead and get up there, so you can advise me on what classes I should take. Oh yeah, don’t throw any of your work away either. 🙂

    @Mystie– Like I said last week. Behind every good man there’s a better woman. Thank you for supporting me.

    @HP– I learned about humility from you. You know it’s a battle sometimes. But recognizing exactly who we are in the scheme of things should cause us not to boast in anything but the Cross. Your councel will be sorely missed when we leave. It would probably be beneifical for you to go ahead sign-up on facebook…….

    • Randy says:

      I wish I could write like h. p. , but i’ll just say what is on my heart. Bill i’m sure gonna miss you! And if you ever need an old redneck friend from low places call me.

  8. Bill says:

    Thanks Bro. Randy. You will be one of the first people I call no matter the problem. Your passion for God and truth is infectious, and I’m sure I’ll need some encouragement from time to time.

Leave a Reply

