The External and Internal Call of God—Wilhelmus a Brakel

Posted: February 22, 2009 in doctrine, General Discussion, Scripture, Theology
Tags: , ,

Thus far we have discussed the Surety of the covenant and the partakers of this covenant, the church. We shall now proceed to consider the ways in which the Lord brings these partakers of the covenant into the covenant, and how He leads them to the ultimate goal of eternal felicity. The first aspect of this way is the calling.The Calling: God’s Declaration of the Gospel to Sinners The calling is a gracious work of God, whereby He invites the sinner by means of the gospel to exchange the state of sin and wrath for Christ, in order that through Him he may be reconciled to God and obtain godliness and salvation. By means of this calling He also, by the Holy Spirit, efficaciously translates His elect into this state. The calling is a gracious work of God: “And (the king) sent forth his servants to call them that were bidden to the wedding: and they would not come. For many are called, but few are chosen” (Matt. 22:3, 14); “…Him that hath called us to glory and virtue” (2 Pet. 1:3); “God is faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of His Son Jesus Christ our Lord” (1 Cor. 1:9). God calls neither by the law of nature nor by the works of nature , whereby, in doing good, He nevertheless does not leave Himself without witness to the heathen (Acts 14:17). “That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after Him, and find Him” (Acts 17:27). For in all this Christ is neither proclaimed to them nor are they exhorted to believe in Him. The heathen are subject to the covenant of works, and whatever God does in and toward them has reference to that covenant. They are thus obligated to live according to this rule, “Do this and thou shalt live.” Therefore neither the law of nature, nor God’s works belong to the calling; the heathen are not called. Read The Rest of the Article Here

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    Well, Once again I’m glad you posted this. I’m going with an old friend to a Preds game tomorrow night. Eric is none to happy with this cause of her past. I feel like God has place her in my life for a reason after all these years of not seeing each other and all the sudden we bump (literally) into each other at Old Navy. This happened several months ago. Thinking in my head O well it was nice to see her and catch up we exchanged numbers and I thought that would be the end of it but I think God had something else in mind. Well, Tues I got a text from her wanting us to go to a Preds game OF COURSE I will go to a Preds game thats right up my alley. But as much as I love the Preds I love the fact that I get to share my faith with someone that has no idea who I am. She thinks she knows but she has NO idea. I am a new creation in Christ. Boy is she going to be in for a surprise. But I am really excited and nervous. I don’t want us to get wrapped up in the past I want us to get wrapped up in the Word. I have my Bible in my vehicle ready to be put to use. So please Pray for me that God use me in a mighty way 2morrow and that everything I say and do glorify him and him alone. OH my point to being glad you posted this I feel like it will help me 2morrow night.

  2. Bill says:

    From Mystie to Angel: I know who you are talking about and I think that is so awesome!!! I feel the same way that Bill feels which is, nothing just happens by luck or chance it was God’s plan. Maybe by you telling her and showing her the new you it may inspire her to rethink the way she has been living. Please don’t read the Bible to her while you are driving, you may not make it to the game. LOL!! You know what is really strange, is that my sister has been emailing her brother every week catching up on old times. Luck? I don’t think so!!!!

  3. Angel says:

    I didn’t know your sister had a brother.LOL! Well, I think it went ok the f-bomb stopped being dropped real quick and every other 4 letter word was stopped as well. I think we have an awsome God that can use us if we are obedient and I’m hoping he can still use me. I did realize last night that we have the best children in the world. I came home and thanked God for Cody. If it wasn’t for God seeing fit to set me apart from this world while Cody was so young I would be in the same boat. I realized Cody is not mine he is a precious gift from God and I’m just lucky enough to take care of him for this short time that we are here on this earth.

Leave a Reply

