Another Great Weekend

Posted: February 16, 2009 in General Discussion, Scripture, sermons
Tags: , , ,

This weekend I had an opportunity to worship with my brothers and sisters in Christ at Mount Gilead Missionary Baptist Church. Our pastor was invited to preach there as a part of their racial reconciliation Sunday. I was accompanied on this trip by my daughter and another family, and great friends, from my home church, the Kiefers. The day did not start out as planned, because my wife woke up with a very bad sinus infection,(please pray for her because she is still feeling bad even today). So that was a bit of a downer. But things began to pick up as K.K. and I fellowship-ed with the Kiefers at IHOP. I’m still trying to figure out how Rich put away that steak omelette AND pancakes.lol. Anyway, staying true to form I got us lost on Wedgewood Ave. Never again will I use mapquest. I was so frustrated that I did something I’ve never done before……………….I stopped and ask for directions. I need to give a big thank you here to Christy and Rich for rolling with the punches and not getting frustrated with me. Thankfully we were way ahead of schedule and still arrived a little early.

 Upon arrival, I knew we were in for something special, because from the time we entered the building till the time we left people were shaking our hands and hugging us and making us feel very welcome. I can say this without hesitation, Mount Gilead is the most authentically warm and friendly church I have ever been to. Then the worship through song began. I cannot put into proper context how awesome that was. Let’s just say I was blown away. They also did a couple of more things that ,I’m hoping ,maybe one day our church will be able to incorporate. 1st Was, one of the deacons led the church in a time of prayer at the alter, before the preaching. 2nd An exegetical reading of scripture was done by one of the elders. All of this took place before Bro. Josh took his place behind the pulpit. For those of you from Cornerstone who might read this post (and I know it won’t be many, if any) Bro. Josh did us proud. He stayed faithful to the word of God and he preached with the passion that we’ve have come to know and love. I hope to aquire a copy of the message and post it here. He hit on some great points, and he brought to the table some very important issues that need to be worked through, so that all God’s children can worship together for His Glory.

Needless to say yesterday was truly a blessing from God. I know one thing, if there is ever a time that we are in Nashville on Sunday morning, I know where I’m taking my family to church.

Comments
  1. Christie says:

    Bro. Bill…Great post!!! We sure missed having your wife attend with us…but when you go back (and it’s a Sunday Rich and I can go)…we will go with!!! I, too, hope that Bro. Josh is able to incorporate more praise and worship, the Bible readings and the prayer time…More focus needs to be placed on worshipping our Lord and Savior…to be EXCITED for the blessings He has bestowed on each of us individually and on our congregation corporately. Bro. Josh indeed represented us, himself and especially our Savior and Lord incredibly well. We are so thankful that God has delivered to us a man of God who isn’t afraid of opposition and who isn’t afraid to PREACH AND TEACH THE WORD! We have learned so much through him … May God open the eyes and hearts of our congregation in this next year. May God raise us up to be as BOLD in our worship as what we experienced yesterday!!!

    Side note: I quit asking long ago where Rich puts all that food 🙂 … And yes, we did have a good laugh at your expense as we traveled Wedgewood back and forth… and back and forth. . . but we can blame Mapquest since it was DEFINITELY WRONG!!! 🙂 See you soon!

  2. historicprotestant says:

    Mount Gilead looks like a church with God in the center! Have you seen their “Assessment Test”?

  3. Bill says:

    Thanks for the comments. I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Come to find out, Mystie has the flu……….it wasn’t a sinus infection.

  4. Bill says:

    Hey Shane! Yes I did. I’m telling you they do alot of stuff right. Next we go you and the family should ride with us.

  5. Christie says:

    Poor Mystie!!! I hope it passes quickly…I’m praying that it does!!!

Leave a Reply

