In Love With the World?

Posted: January 11, 2009 in General Discussion

 

Ok, I’ve debated about putting this on my blog, but the more I think about it the more I think I would appreciate some input from you guys. I’ve been struggling trying to figure out where the line is where liking things on earth becomes sin. For example I like hockey, so much in fact that I have season tickets to the Nashville Predators. I really enjoy going to movies, and we all know how hard it is to find movies that are “appropriate” (for the lack of a better term). I enjoy watching Mixed Martial Arts. There are other things I could probably list but I think you know where I’m going with this. Here’s the thing I am not guilt ridden over these things. I think about them sometimes(obviously),but I’m not losing sleep over them. Should I be? I’ve listed some verses below that I think warn against my involvement with the things I listed, but do they really. All I want to be is faithful to my God and erase the things out of my life that might interfere with serving Him. So help a brother out and tell me what you think .

Joh 15:19

If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.

Jn 2:15 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

 1Jn 3:17 But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him?

Mat 6:19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal,

Comments
  1. cooke says:

    Hey brother. Just let me say a few things about this and you Bill. I have known you now for about 8 years, maybe 9. You are a good friend but most importantly a good brother in Christ! I see your works and the faith that is behind them and it inspires me to be more like Christ, you are a blessing to me brother.

    There is a point I think that we can all get to in our lives where things of the world can consume us a bit too much.( I am not saying you are there.) That is why it is important to keep our faith built up. I too like things that sometimes I struggle with wondering if this is too much of my time with this or not. And this is what I have found out. We as christian have the Holy Spirit in us to lead our paths. If I am being convicted of something that might be consuming my time too much, or might be convicted of seeing something in a movie or a fight , then I need to kneel down and ask the Lord to show me what is too much and if what I am watching is wrong or not. I feel if I am being convicted of something I do or watch then, I shouldn’t do it.

    Now, if I keep on doing those things I feel the Lord is convicting me on and I don’t stop , that is sin. Sin doesn’t sneak up on us. We as christians have an advocate with the Father. He lets us know when enough is enough. If you going down the freeway and the limit is 65 and you look down and are going 75, you can do two things. Either slow down and obey the law so you won’t get caught breaking them, (that is not sin) or keep going not worried about it even though you know you are breaking the law.( that is sin)

    It is good to look at ourselves from time to time and examine us to see if we are doing the will of God. If you never did Bill then I would be worried about you and your realtionship with Christ. You posting this is showing me you want to do the things of God and give up what it takes to do those things. I don’t know what you need to give up, but I pray you kneel down and ask the one that does and keep on,don’t stop until you get an answer.

    I hope I haven’t caused you more confusion. I just want to help my boy out.
    In The Love Of Christ

  2. Bill says:

    Appreciate that brother, thats the kinda of response I was looking for. I’m really missing this type of accountability and encouragement. Night shift is rough.

  3. cooke says:

    Yeah I fell ya. But you know we are always here for each other tho. Keep ya head up.

  4. Randy King says:

    Hey Brother,
    You got my attention with this one. Because I deal with some of these same issues in my life. Thank God He still deals with us in a way that a loving father does. His Holy Spirit convicts us of sin, but also comforts us when we repent, and teaches us how to avoid future pitfalls.
    1 Thessalonians 5:22 and 23 says… abstain from all appearance of evil, and the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
    This I pray for you in the areas that you are dealing with. I would sincerely ask you to pray the same for me.
    Love you brother, hold to what is good and Godly. Be strong and courageous to turn loose anything that would hinder your run in the race. And if or when you see me blunder, help a fellow runner up. And together we will win this race. It was good to see Cooke’s response.

Leave a Reply

