Something To Think About…..

Posted: December 30, 2008 in General Discussion

As I went through my daily routine of reading blogs I came across a couple that really got me to thinking this morning ,and I thought I’d share them with you.

10 Reasons to Pray the Scriptures—John Piper

The Benefits of Expository Preaching—Josh Buice

 

Notice that both have to deal with Holy Scriptures. You want to know why America has “changed”? Wake up church! It’s time to get back to the basics. It’s time to get back to the Bible.

Comments
  1. cooke says:

    Amen Bill and Dani. I think we need to get back to sola scriptura, the Word Alone. It is our final authority, we have nothing else! It is so important that Gutenebrg invented the printing press to get the Word in the hands of the people during the early days of the Reformation. We need bread to eat daily to sustain our lives, so also do we need every word that proceeds from the mouth of God to sustain our spirit.

    P.S. Let me through this out to you and maybe you can do an article on it for discussion, Where is persecution? Shane and I have been talking at work about how we in america need to be persecuted. We would rely more on God if we had some in our life. Not just persecuted by words of others but actual suffering for the cause of Christ! Just to through it out there.

  2. Bill says:

    @ Cooke,

    That’s an excellent idea. I know we’ve talked about this for a couple of weeks know. I’ll see what I can dig up. Of course it will probably be controversial.

  3. cooke says:

    yeah it will. I said that so people might focus more on the fact that we take alot for granted and have more “things” to occupy our time than being fixated on Christ for everything. Wurmbrandt and others were in a position where all, and I mean all, they had was Christ, period. Maybe just start with that to open some eyes. Just a suggestion. It is your blog though, lol!

Leave a Reply

