A Lesson In Worldviews—Tim Challies

Posted: September 15, 2008 in General Discussion, Theology
Tags: ,

Tim Challies writes a very insightful article on worldviews and the Ray Boltz issue.

So Ray Boltz, a once-prominent figure in the world of Christian Contemporary Music, is gay. He came out to his family–he is the father of four grown children–in December of 2004 but only recently has the news trickled beyond that inner circle. Just a few days ago his story was featured in an article in the Washington Blade, “the Gay and Lesbian News Source of Record” in D.C. and it provides a rough time line of the recent years of his life. In 2004 he retired from singing and touring, in 2005 he separated from his wife and moved to Ft. Lauderdale to start a new life, and this year his divorce was finalized. He is now living what he describes as a “normal gay life.”

The news was not of too much interest to me on a personal level–I don’t know Boltz, do not own any of his albums and am not familiar with even his most popular songs (which seem to be “Thank You,” “Watch the Lamb,” “The Anchor Holds” and “I Pledge Allegiance to the Lamb.”). I know a little bit about him because of my many years of listening to Christian music but to me he is little more than just another face in a crowd. So it’s not like this news involves a man whose ministry I’ve known and loved. What fascinates me about this story is its worldview implications. Read more here.

Comments
  1. Ryne says:

    That comes to show that he wasn’t truly saved. I hope that he will not inspire others to follow his actions.

  2. Christie says:

    This is something that has truly shocked me since I have most of his music and have either played it, signed it or sung it at some point in the last 20 years.

    This choice of homosexuality that people (who claim the name of Christ) make leaves me unsettled. I do not claim to be a Bible scholar but there is NOTHING that I’ve read in Scripture to support homosexuality as a choice God embraces. Much to the contrary! What is going on in our day that seemingly Christian people are falling away into this particular pit of sin??? That they still feel an assurance of their salvation?? Do you really believe that CHRISTIANS (truly born again Christians) can be duped into this lifestyle and still be saved? Or only those people who claim the name but aren’t really of Christ and don’t know it but CERTAINLY don’t want to hear any differently? I ask only because this has been a sensitive subject in my life for the last year… and have been called narrow-minded, judgemental, hypocritical, and worse… What’s your take?

    My heart hurts over Ray Boltz’ actions…and the ripple effect it will have on the image of Christ…and how others will travel the same path he has chosen BECAUSE of who he is and the choices he has made. So sad.

  3. lifecypha says:

    It is sad. I liked the Challies used this example though, to show the two different worldviews that exist. One thing that bothered me was how it was “swept under the rug” for so long. He (Boltz) is not the only “Christain” artist that is struggling with this either. (Google “Tonex” for an example)

  4. C says:

    I’ve never been a Boltz’ fan and while this is very sad, I don’t see much concern at all for the family that he betrayed. It makes me furious because this kind of sin has crept into the church and been allowed to thrive. With the kind of “ministry” that he has/had, there HAD to be people who’s purpose was to hold him accountable. I know they couldn’t hold him accountable for what he didn’t share but why didn’t they see it in his character? How does a truly godly man stand in front of an audience and sing songs like “Watch the Lamb” and “The Anchor Holds” while he thinks of another man sexually?

    What’s worse is that I’ve looked and see no concern anywhere for his family. What about the betrayal that has certainly now become woven into the fabric of their lives?

  5. lifecypha says:

    I’ve wondered that myself. I feel like the people that I’m close to, would be able to see if I was struggling, and have enough love for me to say something about it.

  6. JOhn says:

    I grew up singing Ray Boltz’s songs. They were wonderful music and lyrics that inspired and blessed not only me, but thousands of others. When Ray says that’s who God made him, he is wrong. Who was he when he fathered four children? Was he not a normal Christian man with normal emotions for the opposite sex such as his wife? This proves there is absolutely nothing wrong with Boltz as a normal man, but something intervened between the time he fathered his children and now. That I believe to be Satan. My view is that Boltz has dropped the guards on his life and allowed the enemy to come in. Boltz’s fall can be likened to the experience of King David in 2 Sam.11. When one has enjoyed too many successes he becomes overconfident and ventures into stuff beyond the conventional. Power and prestige and wealth corrupts if they are not sanctified by the Blood of Jesus. This, I believe, is what has happened to a great man of God. It is tragic indeed.
    Ray Boltz must repent and come back to Jesus. Jesus loves the homosexual and has made provision for his sin. Satan has intercepted the good plan of God for Ray’s life. Let’s pray that he repents and comes back into the Kingdom, and that he reconciles with his family.
    John

Leave a Reply

