Local Church History

Posted: September 12, 2008 in General Discussion
Tags: ,

As some of you know by now, the company I work for is being hit hard by the sluggish economy, so they are reducing production. This has resulted in us being laid-off (although that’s not what they are calling it), one week a month for the rest of the year. So it looks like I’m going to have some extra time on my hands. I know I have to clean out our storage building and move the stuff and put it in our garage, and I know I’m going to catch up on some reading. I’m working my way through “The Future Of Justification” by John Piper right now and re-reading “The Confessions of Augustine”.  I wondered what else I could do with all of this extra time …………..

 Yesterday I had a unique opportunity to take a tour of the First Presbyterain Church here in town. It’s one of the older churches in the area, and I have to say I was blown away . I was also fortunate enough to be led on the tour by a local historian who gave me an awesome history lesson on the church and about our town.  They just don’t build churches like this anymore. But anyway it has sparked an interest in me to visit more of the older churches around here and learn their history. So while I thought I was going to be bored out of my mind for 7 days, God has opened my eyes to another way to know Him better.

Stay tuned for updates and hopefully pictures. I am hoping this little experience will help answer some questions I have about the direction “The Church” is going.

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    Well, that sound interesting. I have a great idea for you. You could start a bible study. Then I’ve got plenty of (voluteer) work for you, just so you don’t get bored.LOL

  2. lifecypha says:

    By the way, I may need to borrow Eric’s truck………

  3. Angel says:

    No problem.

  4. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

