Be Still?

Posted: August 12, 2008 in General Discussion

I’ve always heard that sometimes we need to just “be still” . I’ve even handed that out as advice before. I guess my question is how do we do that,really. It seems that there’s always something that needs to be done, there’s always something to read, study or learn. There is no time to “be still” anymore. I feel like if I try (to be still), even for a moment, I’m gonna miss out on something, or get lazy. But then again I wake up sometimes and feel as though my brain is fried and my head is going to explode if I don’t slow down. The need to know more about God, His word,and his will for my life is a thirst that cannot be quenched, it’s almost like being addicted to something. Any advice on how to “be still” ?

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    Well, if you are going to be addicted to something I’m glad it’s that. I think it’s GREAT that you have that desire in your heart. I wish I could study and research half as much as you. Then I wouldn’t have to ask you all my questions I would just know them myself.LOL. So thanks for not being still LOL. Anyone that knows you at all knows you have a very competative spirit sometimes that can be a bad thing but in your case it’s a God (good) thing.

    I have a question about your question. Do you spend all your time reseaching and reading and listening to all these great people that you listen to, instead of spending time on your face before the Lord seeking his voice in a quiet room just you and God?

  2. lifecypha says:

    I do both. I don’t think I would have this kind of desire for Him if I wasn’t spending time in prayer with Him. Never put studying and reading above the relationship.

  3. Angel says:

    Well then I think you have nothing to worry about keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

