Another Quote from “The Prince of Preachers”

Posted: July 21, 2008 in General Discussion, Theology

“I suppose there are some persons whose minds naturally incline towards the doctrine of free will. I can only say that

mine inclines as naturally towards the doctrines of Sovereign Grace. Sometimes, when I see some of the worst characters

in the street, I feel as if my heart must burst forth in tears of gratitude that God has never let me act as they have done! I

have thought if God had left me alone and had not touched me by His grace what a great sinner I should have been! I

should have run to the utmost lengths of sin and dived into the very depths of evil! Nor should I have stopped at any vice

or folly, if God had not restrained me. I feel that I should have been a very king of sinners if God had let me alone. I cannot

understand the reason why I am saved except upon the ground that God would have it so.”–C.H. Spurgeon

Comments
  1. Mystie says:

    How could anyone argue about God’s Sovereign Grace after reading that. What a great preacher!!!

Leave a Reply

